Rope Wall Yoga Class: 5.15.17

My wife got a month unlimited pass to our local yoga studio so we decided to try out one of their non-traditional classes. The one with the best time was “rope wall yoga” so we went for it.

The description of the class says that, “the ropes allow for students to understand how muscles are used in each pose in a different way than they know from a normal floor practice.” Since I’m all about doing things the right way (and developing body awareness), it seemed like a great class.

The strange thing about the class was that it didn’t feel like we did much. It seemed like we only did 4 or 5 poses and then the hour was up. Also, the rope/suspension poses were not assisted versions of floor poses, rather poses that could only be done with the ropes.

It was interesting, to say the least. Lots of inversion, which I am not really a fan of (I’ve got inner ear problems), but was pretty fun. The ropes kind of found their way into some uncomfortable spaces and the handles crushed my hand a bit (it’s still tingling).

This was a super beginner class and I wonder if I took a more advanced one there would be more poses. I’d be up for it again, just with a more hands-on instructor. Private training sessions have really ruined me for group classes!

Leave a Reply

