Workout Summary: 3.15.17

Beware the ides of March.

My first day back at the gym after a LONG, ridiculous winter. Pretty much a small tear in my elbow kept me from training while I was away from town and we came back to a terrible living situation. Now that things are calmed down, I’m ready to build muscles.

The weird thing is that Trainer Nick is no longer my trainer. He’s no longer at the gym. Oh no!

Today I met Trainer Ash. She’s very positive and I’m excited to train with her. We re-evaluated my goals (after reading a great article on Art of Manliness, which are now focused on bulking up and increasing strength. HIIT is but a distant dream (or looming nightmare).

Today’s workout was more of a getting-to-know-you so I won’t write a regular summary. She watched me do a few basic exercises and critiqued me on form. After not training for months, I’m much weaker than I used to be. That’s about to get fixed.

Exercises

We worked on squats (front and back), bench press, lat pull-downs, pull-ups, and dips. That was pretty much it.

Friday will be a more structured workout. It feels good to be back.

Leave a Reply

