Birthday Workout Summary: 11.30.16

Happy birthday to me! I turned 36 today and feel better than ever! I started a tradition last year that I would do something good for myself on my birthday each year (I took a yoga class last year). It just so happened that today was HIIT day and I HIIT it hard!

Well, I did burn out a bit at the end. But I worked really hard and came away with a great workout.

Dynamic warm up

  • Lunge with a twist: 20 yards
  • Slide-n-glide: 20 yards
  • Frankensteins/RDLs: 20 yards
  • High knees/butt kicks: 20 yards
  • Karaoke: 40 yards

First HIIT sequence

3x, no breaks

  • Tire flip, 10 yards
  • 10 jumping jacks
  • 10 ladder climbers

Second HIIT sequence

3x, no breaks

  • “Skaters”: lateral one-legged jumps – x 10 (both legs count 1)
  • 10 x crab, alternate hand/foot touch
  • 10 x push-ups

Third HIIT sequence

I crapped out here after 2 abbreviated sets

  • 10 x burpees (then 8)
  • 10 x plank, pivot, foot touch (then 6)
  • 10 x firemen (then 5)

Post-workout stretch

  • 15 minutes, various stretches*
Leave a Reply

