Workout Summary: 10.19.16

I knew it would happen one day. One day I’d walk onto the field and there would be a giant tire and Trainer Nick would have that sadistic smile on his face. Today was that day.

All in all, the tire is a great exercise. You really have to break it down into phases or else you’ll get hurt. Also, it really keeps you focused during those fatigue reps because if your form starts to slack, you’ll get hurt. The first couple were easier than I thought they would be (I did use the smaller tire) but it got hard really quick.

I think I’m finally getting the hang of my pre-HIIT nutrition, too. No vomits today and I felt good (when I wasn’t getting my ass kicked). We also spent quite a bit of time working on my cartwheel form.

Here’s the rundown:

Dynamic warmup

  • Lunge with a twist: 20 yards
  • Slide-n-glide: 20 yards
  • Height skips: 20 yards
  • Front-to-back leg swings: 20
  • Lateral leg swings: 20
  • Legs up and over: 20
  • Scorpions: 20

First HIIT sequence

3 times through, no breaks

  • Tractor tire flip: 20 yards
  • Bear crawl: 20 yards
  • Skips for distance: 20 yards

Second HIIT sequence

3 times through, 15 second breaks

  • Burpees: 8
  • Table saw: 20
  • Cartwheels: 20 yards

We practiced my cartwheel form here.

Third HIIT sequence

  • 100 yard sprints x 2
Leave a Reply

