Workout Summary: 10.12.16

Whew! It’s been a little bit. Due to various emergencies and scheduling problems, I haven’t had a training session since last Wednesday.

I did have a great workout on my own (well, with my lovely, motivational wife) on Friday. But I don’t really know how to give 100% when I’m on my own yet.

It was HIIT day and I was worried that Trainer Nick would kick the crap out of me. He kind of did but it was good, too. I’m still working on nailing down my early-workout-day diet. Today, I only had a small amount of coffee several hours before my workout, which gave me a monster headache during my workout. Oh well; back to the drawing board.

Lots of new, fun stuff today.

Here’s the rundown:

Dynamic warmup

  • Lunge with a twist – 20 yards
  • Slide-n-glide – 20 yards
  • High knees/butt kicks – 20 yards
  • Frankensteins/RDLs – 20 yards
  • Karaoke – 40 yards

HIIT sequence 1: ladder drills

I did 3 repetitions with no breaks. 10 yards of ladder drills (fast with high knees), 20 yard sprint, jog or walk back, into the next one.

  • One foot per square
  • Two feet per square
  • Lateral two feet, to the right
  • Lateral two feet, to the left
  • Bunny hops
  • Hopping switch-ups, to the right
  • Hopping switch-ups, to the left
  • Diagonal two feet (weird syncopated steps)

HIIT sequence 2: 20 yard madness

3 sets, no breaks. Each exercise went for 20 yards (about 10 reps).

  • Cherry pickers (like skipping for height instead of distance)
  • Frog jumps
  • Cartwheels (man, those took me back. I don’t think I ever learned how to do them right)

HIIT sequence 3: Explode!

Only 2 sets (ran out of time). No breaks.

  • Starbursts – 20 (like an explosive jumping jack)
  • Ladder climbers – 20 (like the last half of a burpee)
  • Jump rope – 50
Leave a Reply

