Workout Summary: 10.5.16

Much better performance at today’s HIIT workout, although I was still a bit wiggly-feeling in the tummy. I made sure I had a Clif Builder’s Bar before I trained (90 minutes before) and I only drank half of my usual coffee, being sure to stop 90 minutes before my session too. I think this whole food/morning workout ritual will take a little tinkering and some time to get used to.

Most of my intervals were cardio-based today, which made them a little easier for me. Not to say that they were easy, by any means. A few kinds of sprints, then a good ol’ fashioned horror circuit. As long as I get to do these workouts regularly, I think I’ll be better acclimated to them; they can’t always feel like I’m going to die, right?

Here’s the rundown:

Dynamic warmup

  • Walking lunge, stretching arms to the ground – 20 yards
  • Slide-n-glide – 20 yards
  • High knees/butt kicks – 20 yards
  • Leg swings, forward and back – 10 each leg
  • Leg swings, lateral – 10 each leg
  • Scorpions – 10 each leg
  • On the ground, legs side to side – 10 per leg

Kettlebell circuit – 15 lbs

  • Around the world – 10 per side
  • Figure 8 – 10 per side
  • Halo – 10 per direction
  • One-handed pulls – 10 per side
  • Front squats – 10

First HIIT sequence

It went like this: sprint to the 5 yard line, then sprint backwards to the start. Repeat at 5 yard intervals (10, 15, etc.) to 20 yards.

Times:
* 36.5 seconds
* 35.4 seconds
* 34.8 seconds

Second HIIT sequence

100 yard sprints x 3. Start in runner’s stance and build up speed for the first 20 yards. Then haul ass to through the end zone.

Sadly, I’m unsure of my times.

Third HIIT sequence x 3, no breaks

  • Bear crawl – 10 yards
  • Medicine ball throw-downs – 10
  • Bear crawl – 10 yards
  • Jumping jacks – 10
    Repeat
Leave a Reply

