Workout Summary: 9.21.16

Intervals. I’ll say it again:

Intervals.

Intervals are the devil. Especially when you haven’t done them in weeks.

I also hadn’t had any carbs all day and was really dragging. I was disappointed in my performance but my trainer was glad to see I was giving it my all (even if I didn’t think I was living up to what I thought I could do).

He said, “You know what I like about you? You don’t quit. Even if something is really hard, you still finish it the best you can.” I said, “I so often feel like I could’ve done better.” He said, “Maybe but you could be a lot worse.”

A good way to think about it, I guess.

Here’s the rundown:

Dynamic warmup

  • Lunge with a twist – 20 yards
  • Slide-n-glide – 20 yards
  • High knees, butt kicks – 10 yards each
  • Frankensteins, RDLs – 10 yards each
  • Karaoke – 40 yards

First HIIT sequence (x3)

  • Sled push – 20 yards
  • Jumping jacks – 20
  • whoa, I can’t remember the last part of this one

Second HIIT sequence (x3)

  • Kettlebell burpees x 10 (go to plank, bring the feet back in, squat lift a kettlebell (35 lbs), bring weight up to chin, squat lower weight, repeat)
  • Frog squats x 15
  • Inchworms – 5 yards (first set was 10 yards)
  • Jog a lap

Third HIIT sequence (x2)

This sequence was timed. I’m not sure of my numbers.

30 second intervals with 15 second rest between. 2 minute rest between sets.

  • Jumping squats
  • Mountain climbers
  • Jump rope
  • Balance clock (I’d balance on one foot and Trainer Nick would call out positions on the clock for me to stretch my other leg out to)
Leave a Reply

