Workout Summary: 8.17.2016

Really fantastic workout today, despite still being sore from Monday’s interval madness and possibly coming down with a cold (or sinus infection or maybe just sleep deprivation).

The star of today’s session was maxing out. To the max. Basically, Trainer Nick had me determine how much weight I could lift (for 3 reps) in four difference exercises: chest press, lat pull-down, tricep extension, and bicep curl. Then, through some kind of calculation, he determined how much weight I should be using for these crazy super sets (I only did chest presses and lat pull-downs today).

I had to burn out for 4 reps. However many I could do until I failed. It was pretty amazing. Overall, I lifted more weight and did more reps than I ever have and I think that’s pretty good progress.

Here’s the rundown:

Dynamic warmup

  • Lunge with a twist – 20 yards
  • Squats with leg extension – 20 yards
  • Frankenstein walk – 10 yards
  • RDLs -10 yards
  • High knees – 10 yards
  • Butt kicks – 10 yards
  • “Karaoke” (lateral shuffle) – 40 yards

Lower body

  • Squats 2 x 10 (45 lb bar), 1 x 10 (50 lbs, new record!)
  • Step-ups (as many as I could do in 60 seconds) x 4

Burnout

My limits

  • Chest press: 60
  • Lat pull-down: 70
  • Tricep extension: 35
  • Bicep curl: 65

My reps

  • Chest press (20 lbs)
    • First set: 30
    • Second set: 10
    • Third set: 6
    • Fourth set: 3
  • Lat pull-down (30 lbs)
    • First set: 45 (woohoo!)
    • Second set: 20
    • Third set: 10
    • Fourth set: 12

Upper body

  • Shoulder super set (7.5 lb barbell)
    • 3 x 8 lateral shoulder raises
    • 3 x 8 shoulder front raises
  • Shrugs – 1 x 15 (25 lb), 2 x 15 (20 lb)

Core

  • 2 x 20 knee twists
Leave a Reply

