Workout Summary: 8.1.16

With my shoulder feeling better, I was able to get a nice, well-rounded upper body workout today.

With every workout, we’ve been doing a lot of inner thigh work; lots of squats, lunges, and step-ups. Trainer Nick said it’s because it looks like I’ve got a real deficiency in those muscles, which cause my feet to turn out (severe duck feet), resulting in a lack of stability and strength.

As you can imagine, this is my least favorite work to do (I believe I said, “I hate these things!” on my session). In spite of that, I’m remaining positive and working hard; I know that it won’t take long to build that strength and I’ll be so much better for having developed such a large and important muscle group.

Here’s the rundown:

Warm-up

  • Lunge-n-twists – 20 yards
  • Squats with leg extension – 20 yards
  • Frankenstein walk – 10 yards
  • RDLs -10 yards
  • High knees – 10 yards
  • Butt kicks – 10 yards
  • “Karaoke” (lateral shuffle) – 40 yards

Circuit training

(45 second sets with 20 second rests)

  • Leg extensions
  • Squat lifts
  • Rows
  • Shrugs

Lower body

  • 4 x 10 air squats
  • 4 x 15 squats with 35 lb bar
  • 3 x 20 step-up-and-through

Upper body

  • 3 x 10 low inclined bench press – 15 lb each arm
  • 3 x 8 assisted curl-ups
  • 3 x 10 shrugs – 15 lb each arm

Core

  • 2 x alternate arm/leg reach
  • 2 x plank – 30 seconds
Leave a Reply

